RSS

Past And Future

27 Jul

In the past few months, my life has changed a great deal and as I would like to think, so have I. On June 15th, I joined ZS Associates in Pune and started my career as an analyst doing sales and marketing consulting. Despite a tough recession, IIT Kgp managed to provide job to a fortunate few of us. Entering into a professional life after a college experience from IIT Kgp is never easy (if you know what I mean).

Actually I don’t think you do. Let me just explain this – Kgp is a place where you don’t have to bother going classes, you can hang out with your friends all days and night, eat when you like, drink when you like (truly :P),Β study 15 days a year and you will be more than fine. All you have to worry about at this place is which movie/TV Series to watch and who to chat with. Β As compared to that peaceful life, here, you have deadlines to follow, have to come office daily and most of all, sometimes work 15 hrs a day and you are still not sure whether you are going to be fine or not :).Β Another hurdle is to settle in. Now, you start worrying about taxes and loans and allowances and what not (pfff…). Savings are not an issue with me because I don’t really plan to save any :P.

Anyways, so far so good, for I have compromised with the fact that change will happen, it’s bound to happen. It seems hard to let go of the calm and monotonous life of Kgp and start all over again. Nevertheless, if you ask me if I am feel happy and satisfied, then despite of all the things I said above, I would say – Hell Yeah!!!

Things are good and things are exciting. I definitely miss watching movies 18 hrs a day and sleeping without an alarm clock. I do miss my friends and the “intellectual” humor that we shared. Granted, now a lot of things have changed, few for good I guess. I now have an instant accessibility to KFC and multiplexes. I don’t have to wait for DVDrip of movies and can go watch all the new releases. But most of all, I am finally at a place where the sex ratio is reasonable (although sometimes it feels a little higher on the favorable side :D).

All I can say for now is that the future beckons and although I don’t know what it holds, I would love to explore and enjoy myself today. Looking back, I could say I lived my life at Kgp in a way I wanted. I will always cherish the place for all the unforgettable memories and lifelong friends. Without a shred of doubt, Kgp is the best place that I have ever been in :).

For the dual degree, M.Sc., Archi and Backlog friends (hopefully this time I haven’t missed anyone :P) – Enjoy your stay at Kgp while you can and all the best for your placements/app/CAT/GMAT etc. Last but not the least, I would love to hear from my B.Tech. friends about their experiences.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2009 in Personal

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Past And Future

  1. abhisheksardar

    July 27, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Oh god!!!
    Feed your blog some comments, otherwise it will die a horrifying death.

    15 hours a day!!! Baap re baap. Itna kaam!!!

    It gives my heart untold pleasures that you are not saving at all. Muhahahaha.

    I also miss that life yaar. Hai yeh berahem zamana.

    Chalo keep blogging. It’s nice ki atleast koi jaan pehchaan ka aadmi blog kar to raha hai.

     
  2. Ashish

    July 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Not working 15 hrs dude, just pointing that even 15 hrs are not enough πŸ˜›

     
  3. Rahul Deo

    July 27, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    dude, before reading this blog I never realized about the sex ratio stuff.. now i am looking forward for a job with new zeal.. thanks a lot..
    waise, even if the ratio is better, how good is your performance.. let us know.. coz not many ppl read ur blog.. so dont be afraid πŸ˜€

     
  4. Ashish

    July 28, 2009 at 4:37 am

    dude, leme just tell you …. its just the beginning and very soon a lot of ppl will start reading my blog (at least that’s what I am hoping :P)
    And this is so not the place to discuss my performance πŸ™‚

     
  5. casinaroyale

    July 28, 2009 at 5:22 am

    Same old cliched feelings and emotions. I guess every passout feels this stuff, unless you are a total maggu. πŸ˜›

    Do blog, if you planning to do some crazy stuff πŸ˜€

    And best of luck about the sex ratio stuff πŸ˜›

     
  6. Ashish

    July 28, 2009 at 5:29 am

    haha .. sure sure. And yeah thanks for wishing luck, kgpians sure need that after being there for 4 yrs πŸ˜›

     
  7. prrrrrrrrramey

    July 29, 2009 at 6:55 am

    nice 1 buddy

     
  8. Pratyush

    July 31, 2009 at 6:08 am

    hmmm nicely put be kingy… jus one thing… do u really think ur present life is less monotonous than kgp…kgp ws so happening be…most of d tyms u never knew wht u were going to do d next moment…

     
  9. Ashish

    July 31, 2009 at 6:18 am

    I can’t agree more than we were more impulsive in kgp than we will ever be πŸ˜€
    For the time being I would say that because things are new, they seem exciting, lets c wat future holds πŸ™‚

     
  10. himangshu

    August 3, 2009 at 4:52 am

    sale someone wrongly said no such thing as free lunch kingy stays @ zs for free lunch dinner and breakfast and in between meals

     
  11. Ashish

    August 3, 2009 at 4:55 am

    @ Doga …. feeling jealous that you have to make ur own food at home πŸ˜€
    and btw wat u said is partially wrong, i do stay for in between meals πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
