RSS

I am too Old for this shit … wait, Really, Am I !!!

12 Aug

Since the time I have come from the college life to what the intellectuals refer to as “real world” (and quite gleefully so, dunno why), I have felt that among other things that I so dearly miss, there is one specific aspect of that life that I miss a lot. In one of my previous posts I mentioned about the “intellectual” group that we used to have in college. Well, this post is a more detailed explanation of what this “philosophy” and “way of life” it used to be and what it is as of now.

Now, those who know me are aware that I am a movie and TV Series buff. It so happens that in college, we used to be a bunch of friends and all of us enjoyed watching movies and recommending them to one another (hence, chances are really high that if someone came to any of us and boasted that I watched this movie or episode today, he/she would be bombarded with uproar and cries like “अभी तक नहीं देखा था तुम” and “कुछ मखाऊ है बे तू” etc :P). Its another thing that we will then discuss at least half an hour about the various high points and share our personal observations about that movie.

If some new movie will release or some series’s new episode will come, then we will discuss that full length on gtalk or when we meet for god knows how long. We would forward each other the various blog posts and webpages to illuminate others in our group (this is true especially for series like LOST and generally for most of them) and let them know some extra info about the plot or back stage drama etc. Oscars used to be our celebration time and you would be shocked if you knew how accurately we used to predict the winners (well in advance). I for one, drank to Kate Winslet when she won her first Oscars, it didn’t mattered that I had a grand viva (or BTP presentation, don’t remember, don’t care) the next day :). This love goes to the length that when we were mailing professors throughout the world for a foreign training, the first place we started was University of California, LA and the first state we covered was LA :D.

The jokes that we cracked or the discussions that we had were obviously, almost always were referred back to any movie/series. Wednesday night was refereed as beer night among us as a tribute to The Big Bang Theory. Even the minor day to day activities were referred to as “you know, the same thing happened to so and so character from so and so movie/series”. Just for e.g. one of our friends was more “dukhi” than usual on one day (well he always is “dukhi”, so some of you know by now who he is :P). Anyways, so he came to us and said that he and his girlfriend (notably his first one) had a minor fight and he was worried sick that they are gonna break up now. As good friends, we gave relationship advise (huh… of all people, us giving relationship advise, life is so not fair and it sure sucks at these moments 😛 !!!! ). Anyways, we have our share of “expertise”, however, superficial it is. So, we consoled him saying that couples do not break up on issues like this (I don’t remember the issue, but it was awfully petty). You’re in first relationship of your life and that’s why you are so apprehensive about such a minor issue. We gave examples of Ross from F.R.I.E.N.D.S (you’ll know if you have seen it as many times as us) and he was clear why such a thing was happening to him. Most recently, one of my heartbroken friend (the girl fed him the classic let’s remain friend and I don’t wanna lose a great friend like you bullshit) was telling his story after 4 X 60 ml of Whisky and was saying that we are only good friends now and blah blah, we reminded him of the little wisdom given by Harry in When Harry met Sally “Men and Women can’t be just friends”. God bless that heart break kid (another movie, see this is what I am talking about).

Enough with the ramblings, the point of all of this is to make you clearly understand the environment that I spent last four years in. Hence, when I came here, I was awfully frustrated at first because of my habit of “intellectual” talks and ambience. Of course, “real world” is so different, most specifically the girls’s knowledge level in this field. If you start pulling your hairs for every blunder they make, very soon you will be like Ted and even sooner like Turk (Scrubs reference). Anyways, saying their knowledge as disastrous is an understatement by miles and miles. Now, whenever I am in a group and crack a joke like remember the same happened in that movie, everyone (read mostly the girls) look at me blankly and I feel like a stupid, although I know that this joke is super hilarious. Today, even during the process of writing  this blog, at lunch, when I cracked a Simpoo Singh Joke, one of my friend (girl, like that’s not obvious) said “who’s Simpoo Singh ?  (God ….arghhhh). One of my friends wrote in his blog that for him eating veg food is like asking Paris Hilton to count to 10. We all know how excruciating that can be for her. When I shared this joke, the response I got was “Is she really that dumb” and even “Who is Paris Hilton” (भगवन उठा ले इस दुनिया से .. मुझे नहीं, ऐसे लोगों को :P). I have met people here who have not heard (let alone watch) Schindler’s List. People here don’t understand when I say that Will Smith is there to save the world and as long as he’s alive nothing can happen to us. He will produce movie himself if no other producer wants him to save the world, but he will go to any extent to answer his self declared calling. If you have watched Independence Day, Men in Black, I-Robot, Hancock, I am Legend etc etc you will know what I am talking about 😛

Okay, okay a step back …. I know I am pushing it too far now and went on to give some really bad examples 🙂

Anyways, the point is that I know that I can’t expect people to be at the same level as me (not glorifying myself here :P) but nevertheless, I still expect that people should at least be aware of some really basic lingo. After all, its really unlikely that they haven’t watched Jab We Met or Kal Ho Na Ho. Just one high point so far – it was really good and pleasantly refreshing to know that at least some people still do know आप पुरुस नहीं महापुरूस है dialogue 🙂

This brings me back to the title of this blog – Now, sometimes I feel so out of place that I feel may be I am acting too naive. As Danny Glover used to say in Lethal Weapon series – I am too old for this shit (Also Ted Mosby in HIMYM, S04E19). On the slightly different note, but still in the same spirit, I think that may be its best to just stay quite and crack only the conventional jokes and indulge in only “worldly” conversations. May be its time to grow (as some will put is) but then why it feels like something is not right and that something is out of place. Guess its just my resistance to let go of an immensely nostalgic lifestyle, the unforgettable memories that I will always cherish and probably will always long for.

P.S. – As an example to our dedication for movies, here’s listed a very interesting testimonial written on Orkut by one of my friends for another friend. Try an interesting exercise, can you tell me the name of movies from which they have been taken from? It’s fairly simple, I can assure you that. And puhleez (girly style for please) – don’t Google 😛

Who is XYZ?
You sure you want to know?
The answer is out there, and it’s looking for you, and it will find you if you want it to.But on this most auspicious of nights, permit me then, in lieu of the more commonplace sobriquet, to suggest the character of this dramatis persona.
If somebody told you he was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world… somebody lied. It’s not who he is underneath, but what he does that defines him.
Well how dangerous is this guy? Compared to what – Bubonic Plague!
I imagine that right now, you’re feeling a bit like Alice. Hmm? Tumbling down the rabbit hole?
Unfortunately, no one can be told who Chandan is. You have to see him for yourself.

Who is XYZ?

You sure you want to know?

The answer is out there, and it’s looking for you, and it will find you if you want it to. But on this most auspicious of nights, permit me then, in lieu of the more commonplace sobriquet, to suggest the character of this dramatic persona.

If somebody told you he was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world… somebody lied. It’s not who he is underneath, but what he does that defines him. Well how dangerous is this guy? Compared to what – Bubonic Plague!

I imagine that right now, you’re feeling a bit like Alice. Hmm? Tumbling down the rabbit hole? Unfortunately, no one can be told who XYZ is. You have to see him for yourself.

Till Next Post – Hasta La Vista, Baby 🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2009 in Humour, Movies, Personal

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “I am too Old for this shit … wait, Really, Am I !!!

  1. Ravi

    August 12, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Hey,, nice post … was like a trip down the memory lane…

     
  2. Kumar Speaks

    August 12, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I am too old for this shit.
    Danny Glover kept saying it but he made Lethal Weapon 1, then 2 and then 3.(U know where I took it from _____S04E19)
    I guess you get the clue.
    Yahi sab tu yahan aakar bhi roya tha 😛
    Glad you made it into a blog…that too a gud one 🙂

     
  3. Ashish

    August 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    correction – Roya nahi tha 😛
    Thanks for the appreciation 🙂

     
    • kumariitkgp

      August 12, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      V for Vendetta
      Spiderman
      Matrix
      Say What 😀

       
  4. abhisheksardar

    August 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Hey bhagwan kin logo ke beech phas gaya hai tu… 😛

    Now aakhir ke question ke answer…

    spiderman
    v for vendetta
    no country for old men
    batman begins
    fight club

    kuch miss hue hai lagta hai…but then i didn’t use google 😀

    Accha yeh batao ki koi worthwhile laundiyan hai wahan?

     
  5. Ashish

    August 12, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    explain worthwhile 😛 !!!!
    btw I am waiting for the two ppl to whom the last question relates to and then only will tell the answer … probably they themselves will answer 🙂

     
  6. Garam Samosa

    August 13, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    oops…now when i have read the whole post twice upside down, i know what i was missing in this “real world”…fuck, what have we done to ourselves!! let’s take the only pledge that every guy takes at least once in his life – I am definitely going back to my college dorm and that too, for good (okay, apart from the one about owing a bar).

     
  7. Ashish

    August 14, 2009 at 8:16 am

    hehe … too late to repent @loha 😀
    anyways guess don’t matter now

     
  8. RaDeo

    August 14, 2009 at 8:48 am

    so, i start my commenting with my most common nick.. or else most of the ppl would have been thinking who the fuck is this rahul deo.. 😦 thank god i still remember my full name 😛
    nice post kingy.. its pathetic that outside our kgp world there exist another world growing in “ignorance”..n this revelation is really serious as far as we Tv/Movie freak guys are concerned..
    i still remember the night when kate got the oscar..rather i was busy watching the movie “The Reader”.. 😛

    as far as it was not whiskey.. u ass****.. u let us drink Bacardi.. woh bhi 2 ke saath 1 free wala.. 😦 btw i got to know that Bacardi can be so tasty n tricky on that day only.. fuck what else did i said on that day.. koi batao mere ko.. 🙂
    and one more thing dude.. u tell us.. who is she whom u were trying to “impress” by cracking some “serious shit” (jokes that were not better than shit to her).. dude.. if she don’t know about HIMYM or TBBT.. she can’t be ur gf.. 😛

     
  9. Ashish

    August 14, 2009 at 8:59 am

    You also received my ““अभी तक नहीं देखा था तुम” comment for Reader 😛
    btw drinking Bacardi was ur choice not mine and you also drank Signature … atleast show some gratefullness
    And these jokes come naturally to me and have no connection with trying to impress anyone crap 🙂

     
  10. YouKnowWho

    August 15, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Dude been there……..
    Story of my life……..
    abhi jyada time nahi hai isliye yeh timepass comment rakh lo.1-2 din mein ispe achhe se ek comment likhenge 1-2 page ka. 😛

     
  11. Ashish

    August 18, 2009 at 4:45 am

    what happened to ur TM of YouKnowWho 😛

     
  12. casinaroyale

    August 19, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I think people in the real world as not as crazy as we are. Sometimes, I too feel the same way when people dont understand simple math or movie jokes. In fact, if any I crack very simple jokes. Imagine those PJ gods, who frustrate us here. Un bichaaro ka kya hota hoga !!! 😛

    Anyway, we love our style and stay crazy 😀

     
  13. Kidd™

    August 20, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Borat says Naaaiiiceeeee!!!

     
  14. Himanshu

    September 29, 2009 at 11:17 am

    “Rants, Raves and Small Talks”- What all it suggests that u r in a cave with rats nd nobody understands ur small talks 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
